Contact us

History and Preservation of the Cottage

The "cottage" at the southeast corner of Lee and Monticello Boulevards has served as the gateway to the Forest Hill community for three-quarters of a century.  Built in 1930 as the Forest Hill sales office of John D. Rockefeller, Jr.'s Abeyton Realty, the cottage was originally located at the corner of Brewster Road and Lee Boulevard near the "Rockefeller homes", where it was clearly visible driving up Lee from Euclid Avenue.  With its wavy-edged cedar shingled sides and steeply pitched cedar shake roof, the building is a miniature replica of one of Andrew J. Thomas' French Norman Rockefeller homes and acted as a unique advertisement for the development.  In 1937 the realty office was moved to its present location, closer to where homes were then being built.

In 1948 Toledo businessman George A. Roose acquired the sales office when he purchased the subdivision from Rockefeller, and the cottage continued to serve as the realty office for this later phase of the Forest Hill development.  When Roose returned to Toledo, he sold the cottage, along with the original office furniture, to Forest Hill Home Owners in 1957.  FHHO continues to maintain the cottage as its office.  The cottage was designated a Cleveland Heights Landmark in 2005.

Our offices are located in the historic Abeyton Realty Company office at the south-east corner of Lee and Monticello Boulevards, across from Forest Hill Presbyterian Church. 

Please check our calendar for the schedule of First Saturdays at the Cottage. You can set up an appointment to visit the cottage by calling 216-932-8952. We are staffed by volunteers, so please call ahead before visiting.

Forest Hill Home Owners, Inc.
2419 Lee Boulevard
Cleveland Heights, Ohio 44118-1206


Contact e-mail addresses to follow.